- Last Updated: Thursday, 14 July 2016 16:53
- Written by Graham Brooks
The lime works at Croglin have been closely associated with the colliery further up the fell. The lords of the manor were the Earls of Egremont at Cockermouth castle from 1759. The limeworks and colliery were usually let together because the coal quality was such that it was only suitable for limeburning.
Hutchinson in 1797 stated that there was a large amount of lime burnt in the area.
The lease of both the limeworks and colliery were taken up by Lord Carlisle on 29th September 1829, and it included limestone quarries and kilns at the time. The lease was transfered to James Thompson in May 1838 when he took over the ret of Lord Carlisle's colliereis and limeworks etc.
Two kilns survive as structure and there is evidence of earthworks of 2 other kilns
Limekiln at NY 584 483
Limekiln at NY 581 484 This site is called Bromer limeworks on the 1829 map of the Barony of Gilsland. (see below) This name is not refered to in any of the surviving documents on the area.
The design of this kiln arch is as far as the author knows unique in the north of England. The site worked up till the middle of the twentieth century.
Firebricks stamped 'COWEN M' 'COWEN M ENGLAND' 'BRANDON' 'LILY'
1st Edition Ordnance Survey map of area 1868.
Barony of Gilsland map 1829.
A small farmers field kiln at NY 585 478 outside the main limeworks area.
A second limekiln was at NY 585 478 but is now only an earthwork.
For details of the colliery see paper East Cumberland coalfield in British Mining.